Freediving: SSI Level One

 

Through instruction, encouragement and inspiration I finally finished my freediving SSI level one with MAYA Freediving. It took me two afternoon trainings extra besides the course, but putting the hours in and not giving up is a winning attitude. Being comfortable to dive to 10 meter is a big difference from before when I was just trying to make it down. I have so much more control now. My last day in the water felt like an accomplishment. It was hard just to take the first step and start the course but I made it through!

One of my worst fears is failure but I will not let it control my life. Only one person in your life can make you happy and that’s you. Realise your potential and go after your dreams. Small steps will make a big difference.

Freediving isn’t only hard work. During fun dives we saw schools of fish and turtles. The light coming through the surface is beautiful and it’s a good feeling playing around under water without scuba gear. But as the T-shirt says: “Scuba divers go down longer”

Snce I’m posting this after I came home I can add that my first time in the pool back home was such a different experience – everything was much easier and the water was even softer and more relaxing than usual.

Author: experiencetravellerblog

Diving, hiking, trail running - love a good view! Travel to experience tropical waters and high alpine environments. To see the world and myself from different perspectives. Join the experience!

Leave a Reply

