A week skiing in Hemavan Sweden

smal-headerWe don’t get much snow in southern Sweden where I’m from and I love warm water so I just never learned to ski.  I’m a scuba diver and a water animal. I’m not used to the winter sports but I moved north to Swedish Lapland and I’m adapting. In Kiruna we have snow from October to May and a lot of times you can ski in the light of the midnight sun in the middle of summer in the mountains just north of here.

So I learned to ski for a few days in the Kiruna town ski slope and now we’re going to a big ski centre in Hemavan (Hemavan/Tärnaby) for a week! I was excited and nervous.

My calves have been killing me but my skiing has improved. I even got some off piste in the end of the week. Always a pleasure learning new skills! Never stop exploring.

Unfortunately I didn’t dare bring my good camera in my backpack skiing and my mobile camera isn’t great in these hard conditions so I decided to spice it up a bit. I live a very focused life – it always feels good to play around. Weather it’s with my camera or skiing or running or whatever… Always try to enjoy what you do!

 

Author: experiencetravellerblog

Diving, hiking, trail running - love a good view! Travel to experience tropical waters and high alpine environments. To see the world and myself from different perspectives. Join the experience!

Leave a Reply

