2h Run in Kiruna

Today I did a 2h run up to Mt Ädnamavaara (maps) and back. Ädnamavaara peaks at 790m, and you run from lake Loussajärvi at 500m just on the edge of Kiruna. The track starts where the road ends.end-of-the-road

I upgraded my camelback with a crotch strap to not have it skipping on my back as I run. For non-divers this may sound uncomfortable or strange but to just prevent the pack from sliding requires very little force so I never felt it but it got the job done. I also added a compass, you never want to go without one.

I’m in love with the high alpine environment and you just get a peak of it on this run but when you get to the treeline at around 700m the low alpine birch forest opens up to reveal the beauty of the surrounding area. You see Sweden’s highest mountain Mt Kebnekaise amongst others.

As I went up the last bit I got to see the contour of a reindeer with big horns on the peak – beautiful! I also got some surprise company by another runner and his dog. Got some tips from him on where to run.

After a 2 hour run I feel extremely satisfied. A year ago I would certainly thought different. I don’t runt terribly fast and I don’t run all the time but I’m working on getting better – what else can you do?

 

Author: experiencetravellerblog

Diving, hiking, trail running - love a good view! Travel to experience tropical waters and high alpine environments. To see the world and myself from different perspectives. Join the experience!

Leave a Reply

