Seeking gratification rather than gratitude 

The “social” world is making people into (as Simon Sinek coined)  “masters of distraction”. 

Recent years I have spent lots of time alone. Travelling for work or for fun you meet lots of new people but you also spend many nights and weekends by yourself. In solitude you get to know yourself. 

I’m at a turning point right now where I realize I have become more decided on where my time and effort will be spent. Under which conditions it is worth working for a company or spend money or time. Time and energy  is precious and limited. 

Company cultures can differ,  and I’m not saying any one is not ok, but what I have come to realize is that one size does not fit all. Recently I realized  that I’m in a similar place as when I quit my job more than three years ago. And I still don’t like it. My view on business is that the people at the top really matters. Setting standards that spread through the whole company.

 I am sad to be moving from Swedish Lapland in two months but I have signed with a good company where I can work and travel very flexibly. It will be good to not have to be planning as far ahead as I have been forced to for a while. For a while I’ll be working closer to home as well. 
Leading a life prioritizing being active and travel I need to sacrifice something to make it happen. But I am fortunate because I can argue like this. I have the possibility to choose very much how I spend my life and this is something not everyone have. I am grateful. 

Author: experiencetravellerblog

Diving, hiking, trail running - love a good view! Travel to experience tropical waters and high alpine environments. To see the world and myself from different perspectives. Join the experience!

Leave a Reply

