Coming Home – Moving Forward

I’m trying to get settled living in Gothenburg. I got access to my flat as I returned from Lysekil after being homeless for six weeks. Been home now for three days and it feels odd. Maybe I will feel more grounded as I meet my friends a little. It still feels unreal being here down south.Up in Swedish Lapland right now it’s all ice, that time of the year when ice grows on everything making it beautiful as the ground cools down to enable the snow to start building up.

I noticed as I unpacked that I am one of those who have lots of pairs of shoes. And socks and gloves! All for different temperatures. A special setup for – 30C, and for more or less activity in temperature ranges above that.

I’ve gone directly from -35C to +35 for my trip in February for a few years now. I have gear for diving, running, hiking, skiing, swimming. Unpacking I realize most of my things have to do with either activities or travel. I get to see many temperature zones and I am uncertain which I’m in currently.

Yes, sure I’m very happy to sleep in my own bed after being away for more than a year, but I don’t need all this space. I don’t appreciate what I can buy at all in the same way as I appreciate what I can learn. I had photography and freediving on my to learn list for this year and it has given me much. Not that I’m a great freediver or photographer, but I have overcome the first step which usually is the hardest part.Every year I set goals and I will continue. I hope I never stop!

“Constantly moving forward means you are always leaving something behind”

I just got a new phone, it’s really like getting a new computer nowadays. I still haven’t installed and configured everything. But I like it
and my old was getting unreliable. I finally switched from my old “light in the tunnel” background to one of my “fairy tale editions”. Is this a new era? I used to need to be reminded there was a light in the tunnel and now I need to be inspired by the awesomeness of the north and the blue of the sea. What do you need? How do you remind yourself?!

Author: experiencetravellerblog

Diving, hiking, trail running - love a good view! Travel to experience tropical waters and high alpine environments. To see the world and myself from different perspectives. Join the experience!

Leave a Reply

