Robbed by monkeys

So, I’m out on a walk to the viewpoint. Already got on the wrong track but was lucky to find the alternate route up the hill. A 3km walk uphill on a dirt road past a muay thai gym with people running up and down next to me. Carrying my camera was enough for me as it was my second day in the heat, it takes a while getting used to. So I hear something in the trees and the guy running past med says “Monkey” so I stop with my camera even though I don’t see it yet. The funny thing is that the first monkey checks med out from a little distance and jumps around a bit and he might  have signaled the others. Then I see the babies and the rest of the pack approaching from the backround and squat down, camera in hand, and wait.

Soon one strong compact looking monkey comes closer with some others in trail – maybe 8 or 10 of them in total. the big one sits down like me, looks at me and jawns – I guess this is a show of force since it shows it’s big teeth. And I have figured out it must have been the banana I’m carrying  they must be after. So I quickly decide to give it to them, and not a second too late! Since the big one was just in front of me now making scary noises and showing his teeth. It’s a bit of a scramble and I jump back a bit but he is not satisfied yet but would have taken my camera or anything on me. I just try doing what would work with many other animals, saying “No” in a very strong voice and stomping the ground and after that retreating a bit, but only after they have taken the first step back, in a game of dominance. They were cute but a bit scary. I made the other tourists happy as I had attracted the monkeys.

_SB71468

Author: experiencetravellerblog

Diving, hiking, trail running - love a good view! Travel to experience tropical waters and high alpine environments. To see the world and myself from different perspectives. Join the experience!

Leave a comment